God’s Mercy

This past Thursday I was at a Baptist Club meeting at my school and we were supposed to have a speaker, unfortunately, he couldn’t make it. They played a video instead; the message was on Mercy and it really impacted me.

When I think about Gods mercy it literally brings tears to my eyes, and I get goosebumps all over. Just to think of myself as a person and all the hundreds of mistakes I’ve made in my life, and then to think about Jesus on the cross, I’m left in awe.

God gave his son for me. A woman that deserved nothing. A woman that was so into him then all of a sudden gave it all up for the world. He gave his son for me, and what did I do? I went out and started hanging with the wrong crowd, I drank, I smoked, I did so many things I’m ashamed of. And one day, I reluctantly decided to go to a special youth service, and what did God do? He forgave me right then and there and told me he had everything under control! For the longest, I questioned myself, asking “why would he still use me? I messed up so bad! I gave up on him! Why does he still care?” He answered me: MERCY.

The speaker in the video said “how old are you? Now get those years and turn them into days. That’s how many times God has renewed his mercy on you” (That’s around 7,025 times for me alone!). Lamentations 3:23. He took our sin away, and made us like new. So that we one day would be righteous 2 Corinthians 5:21. Everything is erased! Romans 8:1. All because he loved us. He loves us so much, that even though we hurt him, and sometimes turn our backs on him. He’s still there, waiting with open arms, we just have to let him in.

To know this and not praise him, to me is unacceptable. He does so many things for me, all I want to do is praise and worship and serve him. I pray for him to continue to have mercy, and help me and guide me in the path he has set for me. So I can become who he wants me to be. Nothing more, nothing less.

Thank you God for your mercy.

Leave a Reply

